Qualification Help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

April

Reaction score
Hi, i'm totally new here so first off hi everyone.

I'm wanting to start up my own beauty therapy business, i am currently studying professional makeup NVQ level 2 and really want to get manicure, pedicure and waxing aswell.
I've found a few courses that are affordable and offer diploma's.
I was really wondering if this was enough to get me started and the manicure and pedicure and the waxing NVQ courses are affordably not within my reach right now.
Would i be able to get started and insured with these qualifications.
Thank you for reading my post any help is appreciated.
x

What is the qualification you would receive if you did the alternative to NVQ? If it is VTCT, then that is a good qualification. Just check who accredits the course and check with your insurance if that is enough for you to practice on clients, otherwise I would say no and do a more reputable course. Hope this helps

I am going to be honest, but there are courses out there that offer diplomas and which the insurance companies will accept and which will enable you to get out there and offer your services professionally. You just need to find which courses/diplomas you might want and then make enquiries with the insurance company and ask if they will accept this and that diplomas and what about when you get more diplomas will you also be covered. And I should tell you that is exactly what I have done and I have been in business since May. There are last minute offers on some diploma courses which means you can get them at half price as long as you can do them at short notice of just a few days.