Should i find another work placement?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mandita8601

Mandita
Reaction score
I'm currently doing 1st year in hairdressing at college 3 days and in salon placement 1 day a week. I've been working 1 day a week in the placement since September and don't feel i'm gaining proper experience there as i'm cleaning all day. What should i be doing at this stage in a salon? i know i'm not experienced enough for alot of things but think i could be doing blow drys or mixing colour or something. There are folk in my class that get models in their placements. Should i stick with this placement for next year or find another one. By the way she pays me, when she doesn't have to because it's part of my college week

Thats why you are being paid , in my first year i was cleaning , making coffees , client care stuff, i learnt alot by passing up - if you are passing up and watching nobody asks you to do the cleaning! Even shampooing is a very important part of hairdressing, you use shampoo for coloured hair and loads of conditioner on fine hair -bang goes the blowdry. Hopefully youll get some conditioning treatments in , and then they may let you do some roughdrys or semis. The important thing is to show how much you are interested and willing to learn by asking questions and watching

it depends. I understand what liana is saying but i know a guy who stuck out a placement like that and hes now finishing his level 3 in the same salon and still they dont let him near anyone. what experience is that in a salon?