Should I train in Hairdressing?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

foxy vixen

Reaction score
Hi im on here all the time but never really post anything but would like some advice please. I am a full qualified beauty therapist and have had my own hair and beauty salon for over four years now. I love what I do and its all going well but im interested in doing a hairdressing course so I can expand on what I offer. I currently have a self employed stylist and she is great but I also have an empty station that is going to waste. I was talked out of doing hairdressing when I was younger by a guidence teacher at school but have always wanted to do it. I dont know if it would be worth doing a course now as I dont know if a beauty therapist also doing hair would have the same credibility as a stand alone stylist. I wouldnt want to take clients away from my exisiting stylist and after trying to rent out the position over and over I never seem to get the right type of person. Sorry to ramble on but im almost 27 and dont want to wait untill I have family to start training again from scratch if I do decide to retrain. Any advice?

Vicky x

I am not gonna stamp on your dream by saying "don't do it". However it is a complete trade and not an easy one to master. I too am a salon owner and wouldn't dream of taking the time out from my salons to go and learn another trade.

As for credibility, I don't really know. A salon owner I used to work for years ago was a qualified hairdresser but worked as a therapist(we used to do a 3 year combined hair /beauty in those days). She did the odd bit of hair, but refused point blank to do any when I was present as she felt awkward and cack handed compared to me. In turn, I have not really done any beauty since I left college.