Starting NVQ2 hairdressing next year-how to prepare?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Everchanging

Reaction score
Hello,

Fingers crossed, I will be starting my nvq2 in hairdressing next year. I already work full time in the finance sector so will be doing a Saturday course. I am not sure if I will start in September or earlier. It depends on which establishment I choose.

Anyway, I am eager to start learning what I can before I start. Can anyone recommend any DVDs for me to buy to practice at home? I am a novice so will be starting from scratch. I have heard good things about my hairdressing.com.

I need something that will take me through step by step so it will need to be pretty detailed.

Areas that might be good are: washing hair, setting, blow drying, basic cutting, etc.

What other equipment shall I buy? Maybe mannequins, combs, etc. Shall I just buy a college starter kit?

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using SalonGeek mobile app

This was me last year im now starting level three. My best advise which is amazing is go to to wh smiths but nvq 2 and 3 books the 2 you get a cd. In these books the units are what are in your folder at college! Everything in them books are on your theory and assignment questions! :D

I agree with the above, I have this which is the 2012 edition

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hairdressin...1379594022&sr=8-10&keywords=nvq2+hairdressing

It has all the sections and underlining theory for the nvq2, you can also get study guides from habia and theres a cutting book & colouring book for nvq2/3 also but I might not get those until your on with the course.