Starting out...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gemster

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am brand new to the industry and the site so please be gentle with me :)...

I am 21 years old and have a very well paid job mon-fri which I love, but have just taken the plunge and am starting NVQ2 Beauty Therapy at college next weekend. This is something I have always wanted to do but didn't quite have the guts to until now!!

I am unbelievably nervous about college; who will be on my course, if I'll be even remotely good at it and what my next step will be (it will probably help you now to know that I'm a mad control freak and couldn't even start the course without having my next 10 years planned out :green:!)

My current plan is to do level 2 and move straight onto 3, but I was wondering when I will be able to start working mobile, just to get as much experience under my belt as possible. I will obviously be working on my friends and family (and maybe even the other half if he's feeling brave :wink2:) as practice whilst doing level 2 but was hoping to start slowly building a client base once I've completed level 2; does this sound reasonable? I did a lot of research before starting the course and went for one the tutors say I could complete in around 6 months, which I thought is a reasonable amount of time to rather than the ridiculously short 'fast track' courses.