Starting out

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EmmaLou86

Reaction score
Hi all. Ive nearly finished my level 3 Nail Technology and im eager to build up a kit. I have got quite a few bits already but was wondering if anybody here had any "must haves". The plan is to eventually purchase and use bigger brand products but as im just starting out id like to give some of the budget brands a go. Im particularly interested in electric file and gel polish advice/recommendations. Ive used elite polishes and they are a little hit and miss, but i cant get a big collecton of NSI or shellac yet due to the cost per bottle. Ive decided that the money i make for the first 6 months will go purely on stock/upgrades.

Thanks in advance x

My best bit of advice would be to research & decide on a company you want to use, go on their product training day and if you like it then start spending on just that brand. Otherwise you will end up spending a lot more overall and have a bit of this and a bit of that and no complete system.
Remember, for your insurance and service success, you need to use all the products and light from the same company. Do not be tempted to mix and match as this will lead to poor treatments and early breakdown.

And also buy only from the official suppliers!
:) Good luck!

Hello, im just a beginner any suggestions on websites to shop from?? Im having issues with nail lifting. Im using Mia acrylic and Monomer with gelish deyhydrate.Do any one think thats an issue bc im using a diff brand of dehydrate??

My best bit of advice would be to research & decide on a company you want to use, go on their product training day and if you like it then start spending on just that brand. Otherwise you will end up spending a lot more overall and have a bit of this and a bit of that and no complete system.