What do I need to consider

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

celebalook

Reaction score
Hi Geeks
Please forgive and post me a link if this has been asked, i have tried looking.
I am looking at renting a previous small hairdressing salon to start running my beauty & holistics salon. What do i need to consider such as
business rates (or would you expect these things to be included in the rent) this is for a shop premises and not just a room to rent.
radio licence etc
i know i would need to buy products and insurance etc.
before i make any commitments
also if i am just a single therapist and have a massage booked in how does this work for you.
i would have to lock the door etc and put in a treatment, so i do not interupt clients treatment to answer the phone or make a booking in person. This would be until i got established enough to be able to employ a receptionist or beauty therapist.
any tips or advice appreciated thanks

44 looks but no advice
can anyone offer help:)

I can't speak from experiance, but usually businesss rates are seperate from ur rent...

Yes u would need a radio licence, a business line etc.

if you are working alone, you could leave a good set time between clients so no one is waiting, this prob won't be much of an issue til u are more established. you could have a waiting room (with nothing but chairs and magazines) and keep anything pinchable behind a locked door (if thats poss-it isn't always) or you could lock the front door with a sign on.

with regards to phone calls- you could get an answer machine and ask clients to leave name and num n u can get back to them.

sorry I can't be of more help! xx

hi
i was self employed renting a room in a previous salon, which closed so i took chance and opened my own salon. the best thing i did!!!!