What to pay a beauty therapist?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beautie

Reaction score
Hi all,

I’ve been researching a lot on here and can’t seem to find the answer I need. I’m taking the plunge and taking on my first employee. I’m just organising the interviews but need to know what the appropriate pay rate is.
I was thinking minimum wage, with 5% commission on all treatments completed for the probation period (3 months) and then increasing to 10% commission after that period. Does that sound about right?! I’m new to this so any help or guidance would be so highly appreciated.

Ideally the person I’ll be taking on will have level 2/3 beauty qualification with only little experience or non at all.

Thank you in advance!!

Can anyone help me pleeeeease [emoji16]
Even if you think that’s a ridiculous rate, I want to know! Thanks xx

I think it's common to do commission when they hit 3x their wage x

I think it's common to do commission when they hit 3x their wage x

Thank you.. is minimum wage too low so you think, or is it best to start low and increase as time goes on? X

Thank you.. is minimum wage too low so you think, or is it best to start low and increase as time goes on? X
No I don't think so it's pretty general in our industry.
The more senior/experienced/skilled they become the more value they have x

I’d say NMW and commission on retail only. Not treatments. I think you’d struggle if you paid commission as well as wage.

Thanks guys, I appreciate your replies x