Working as a mobile beauty therapist?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

miss_hkrs

Reaction score
Im thinking of going mobile, i currently rent 2 locations and 1 of them the business is just not picking up and the other place i rent for 2 days a week and its doing great but i cant rent anymore days there. I only do holistic massage treatments at the moment but am beauty qualified and miss it.

So was thinking of going mobile but wanted some advice first.

* How do you cope with the weight of couch - mine is a lightweight couch but i still find it really heavy.

* What about waxing? how do you cope with setting up for that? i have a portable wax machine but what about hot wax

* As im just starting out is it ok to use Kaeso as facial, mani & pedi's product?

* Should i start small with just spray tan and build up?

I havent much cash so can't afford much, i have, couch, car, massage, wax & tinting materials so far but would need to buy spray tan, mani, pedi, varnish, heated mitts & facial products on the cheap... think it's do able???

Any other advice you could spare would be amazing?

would you not keep renting for the two days that are busy and do mobile the rest of the time? that way your getting best of both thats what i do! it can be a pain carrying things around but you just adapt, the majority of my clients just tell me to do waxing on their bed to save me bringing bed in..and as for buying stock try to go on vat free days etc to save bit of cash or look on ebay and see if any salons are selling off job lots etc. I bought my bed on ebay for 45 pound and its fab! I also bought my roller wax system half price from sassis and went to a carboot and bought some pedi foot spas for £3.00! just steralised and scrubbed them up to look like new! good luck!:p

I agree that you should definately think about keeping on the room that is doing well at the moment.