Beauty room @ home thoughts?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pinkpidge

Reaction score
Hi guys

Would like to get an opinion on beauty from home. I currently work full time as a waxing therapist male/female in a beauty salon. I'm qualified level 2&3 and also reflexology and a few other things.

Iv been considering a beauty room but with no client base and the fact that rent needs paying it's a scary thought, I have children so need an income.

I was considering setting up slowly from home, however I don't have a spare room but i do have a lovely conseverty that we never use for anything. Would this be a sensible option for me? If a client came they would have to enter the front door and come through living room to the cinsevetry as I have no access at the side due to garage. Do you think new clients would mind this? It's very private with blinds ect and of course I would only be working whilst the house was empty. What do people think ? Is this an option for me ? Thanks xxx

That's a tricky one.

For me as a client, I'd be happy with that set up if I was going to get my nails done. But taking my clothes off in a conservatory just off a living room - not a chance.

I think when you're working from home doing something like massage or waxing or any kind of treatment that involves the client getting undressed, your set up/room needs to be as private and professional as a proper salon. It's not like doing nails where you can get away with using a corner of the dining room or something.

How new is the conservatory? Mine is boiling in summer and freezing in winter. Do you have air conditioning in there?