Hair colour advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Perfecttennails

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am looking for advice on what to do with my hair (as in what to ask my hairdresser to do).

My natural colour is a mousey ash blonde. I have been dying my hair for years and have always suited darker colours better. It has been red, various shades of brown and black but bear in mind I am a novice so I always put all over instead of just roots, so my ends have some serious build up! Now just before the birth of my daughter I put a burgundy red that had been knocking around my bathroom for yonks on it. When she was about 3-4 months, I wanted to strip the colour out and be a browny colour with blonde highlights (like Rachel in the early Friends days). I had a new mobile hairdresser who came out and tried to strip it but the colour wouldn't lift and she put it down to the colour being ancient so she stuck a semi permanent brown on it and said to carry on just dying the roots with semi permanent until the colour is out!

Since then, in a moment of madness, I stuck a black on (my ends are black anyway as they are so saturated) but again, the pull of having brown with highlights called so I did a couple of strips with colour b4 at home. This has pulled quite a bit out and the hair went a dark coppery red brown colour, I have put a light caramel brown on but my hair just looks rubbish :( I know it's all my own fault but another hairdresser has said she will be able to get the colour out and do what I want for £85? I told her the issues my current hairdresser had and she said there are ways around that? I really want it done but after the problems my old hairdresser had and doing two strips at home, I am worried that it won't work and I don't want to be out of pocket? What is the best next step? xxx