Speeding ticket and 3 points

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marie111

Reaction score
i've just received a speeding ticket and 3 points added to my license.
How long will these three points be on my license? Will this bump up my insurance?

I think it will effect your insurance. The points stay on your license for 3 yrs I think, but when you fill out your info for an insurance quote they ask if you have had any convictions in the last 5yrs!
You naughty thing!

NoticeableNails said:
I think it will effect your insurance. The points stay on your license for 3 yrs I think, but when you fill out your info for an insurance quote they ask if you have had any convictions in the last 5yrs!
You naughty thing!

What a bummer eh!
I've been driving for 19 years and thought I'd done excellent up to now, no crashes, no tickets.

unfortunately Marie if you have convictions, endorsements or bans on your licence this affects the risk, which will have a knock on effect on your premium but having said that... the last time I got car insurance in the UK and told them about my husbands speeding points they said it wouldn't affect the premium, they look at your driving history, age etc and make an assessment on how likely it is that you will have an accident.

Although the points will stay on your licence for 5 years in total, after 3 years you can send your licence to the DVLA who will take them off the paper copy of the licence. Hope that makes sense.
Is it the first time you have had a speeding fine? If so most insurance companies are quite leanient for the first 3 as most people have them...usually from mobile speed traps.

I really feel for you hun because my boyfriend got a speeding fine for going 32 in a 30 zone, 3 points and £60.00 to pay not to mention the major rise in his insurance payments!!!

xxxxx

Rose143 said: