"14 Day Manicure" starter kit on Groupon!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CutiePie

Reaction score
Hi All,

This is my first post on SG so please be gentle with me :D.... I have just seen an offer on Groupon which really set alarm bells ringing. I'm not sure if I can post the link to the deal but basically the brand name is "14 Day Manicure" (I have never heard of them before). They are offering a gel polish starter kit including 36w UV lamp for £99.

Not only does the packaging look very similar to shellac/OPI, it is being offered for sale to any member of the public. :eek:

As a trained nail tech I am concerned that such a product is being sold this way. Am I overreacting or does anyone else think this is cause for concern or think the packaging is modelled a bit too closely on an existing brand...?

I also work for a company as a product developer/new produc buyer & I'm puzzled as to how they can offer a high quality product at this price and still make a profit!?

If the link is allowed please let me know and I will post it - just didn't want to break any rules on my first post! x

I saw this add too, and thought it was CND Shellac as the image of the nail on the packaging, and the bottles look exactly the same, the only difference seeming to be "14 day manicure" instead of shellac or CND. When you read the description for the product it does not mentiont there being a fan in the lamp they provide so Im hoping its not the same. I am concerned too. Im going on the course in two weeks time for 1-to-1 training but am now a little put off.

after doing a manicure course and spending well over £400 setting up my Shellac I am very peeved at seeing this add!
The fact that any joe bloggs can go out and but a kit for a couple hundred pounds riles me!