Acrylic v Gel & After Care

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zephy_Devil

Reaction score
Ive had a good search for about an hour but couldnt find what I was after. Apologies though if this is a repeat.

Ive been doing my own mobile business in Acrylics for 6 months now after becoming qualified and had some questions through my experience.

1 - I provide an indpeth leaflet on aftercare to ensure every Client is given the best advise on maintaining their nails and their new extensions, keep cuticles supple, moisturise, wear gloves, avoid this that and the other etc BUT I still get Client's having a moan about their natural nails being weak. Now I know covering the natural nail is going to have an impact on its strength, condition etc but if you take care you can avoid the nasty splitting, breaking etc when you come to remove them. My question is what IS the best advice to keep your natural nails in good condition?

2 - Ive had 2 or 3 Client's complain after a few days that naild have just 'come off'. Once Client said she was doing paperwork at work and the whole think popped off. Just the one. The rest were fine. Obviously as this was relatively new I replaced the nails free of charge and on her merry way she went. I prep like a mad thing, making sure the nails is clean, oil free and lightly buffed to remove shine before even starting!
Can nails just 'come off' ??

3 - I trained with Essential Nails and I use their products but I'm sure there are better ones out there. That's not to say thier products are bad beause they've been fine but maybe my product isn't the best. What recommendations can you make?

4 - I'm going to shortly do a course in Gel Nails. Ive been asked a few times about them and thought I should invest. Theres mixed feeling about these over Acrylics. What are your thoughts about Gels and are they any good?