Adding to kit-suggestions please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

byKaty

Reaction score
hi Geeks

ive been lurkingin the background on here since before halloween reading and reading for info. fab site! glad i found it!

bit of history - im currently in college in evenings doing my vrq2 hairdressing. i started out about 10 years ago in salons and was trained in-house and worked as a stylist but never went to college as the ones near me were/are ****! in 2008 i left the salon and hairdressing after losing my confidence.(**** going on at salon were a contributing factor) ive kept my hand in doing friends/family as homers since but decided back in august to do my level 2 and pick it up again. my plan is either work freelance or rent a chair. i currently work as a civil servant on 3 days as have a 16mth old son and i will be hanging on to this job for a while yet.
ive just booked myself onto some courses through salon services for next month and have my eye on 3 more in march/april, for updating skills/knowledge.
i have my kit bag for college, which im starting to add to, already had some bits like my scissors/combs/dryer/straighteners/brushes etc, some of which have been replaced. im thinking of adding bits and bobs each month, when i get paid, eg, heated rollers, tongs etc.
aside from those above, do any of you guys n gals have any firm favourites you wouldnt be without?

tia, and apologies for rambling if you made it this far! xx

Seems you have the basics.
I added a small kit inside my kit of bobby pins, hair pins different colors of course, rubber bands (black and clear) and clips. (I used a fishermans bait box from walmart, perfecto). You never know when a client wants their hair done up after a fresh color!

hair clips...can never have too many hair clips!