Advice for complete beginners - please help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NatSunders

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am currently 21 and working as a receptionist and looking for something new and exciting to spice up my life a bit.

I am being drawn towards nail technician work and it is an absolute mind field! :roll eyes:

It started off when I saw a SenstioNail kit in boots on offer.
I very nearly went for it as it does have great reviews on the website, however after reading all the professional stuff on here, I decided it probably isn't the best bet.

I did look at doing a complete nail technician course which was mainly online and then you go in for 4 days and the cost was £395. But again, after researching on here I see everyone trying to veer people away from home courses and pay for CND.
Is a starter kit included in the course price? Or is it just provided whilst you are there?

What about Gelish? Do people tend to stick to one brand and swear by it?

I'm guessing I would need a mani/pedi qualification to go on these courses?

Literally SO many questions, so if you have any other helpful advice/information it would be much appreciated!

Thanks
Nat

Hi all,

I am currently 21 and working as a receptionist and looking for something new and exciting to spice up my life a bit.

I am being drawn towards nail technician work and it is an absolute mind field! :roll eyes:

It started off when I saw a SenstioNail kit in boots on offer.
I very nearly went for it as it does have great reviews on the website, however after reading all the professional stuff on here, I decided it probably isn't the best bet.

I did look at doing a complete nail technician course which was mainly online and then you go in for 4 days and the cost was £395. But again, after researching on here I see everyone trying to veer people away from home courses and pay for CND.