Advice on our mortgage situation please?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rose143

Very Proud Creative Geek
Reaction score
Hi peeps,

Ronald and I have been battling for two years to get a mortgage as we haven't found a lender that would lend to foreigners. We are south African and have been here in the UK for almost 4 years. We can apply for citizenship only next year which means any normal lender would say no until next year. It's costing us an arm and a leg. Ronald and I are both on a brilliant income (Ronald being over £40k alone) and can afford up to £1000 repayment on a mortgage and not one lender would look at us until now.

We finally moved into a house last September and it was agreed with the current owner back then that we would rent the house for six months and purchase the house at the asking price of £????? and try again in six months time to find another lender but if we battled we would give him 2 month's notice. Needless to say we have finally got a lender to lend us the money after years of battling. We got good news yesterday that we've got an agreement in principal. So we phoned the previous owner to tell him the good news and he has gone back on his word and said, "Well I suppose the fair card to play here is that we get the house re-valued"

I can't believe this!!! :cry: We have spent years battling to find a lender, got our agreement in principal and nothing in writing from this guy about the asking price being what it was. The reason why we never got paperwork involved was because once our lease is up, the owner would cut his agencies out of the loop and save himself £4000 and this would then save us £4000 which would put the asking price of the house down. This means both parties would win at the end and our savings would go towards my new shop :cry: