Advice on shades to create this vintage gold look

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm fairly new out of college and this is the first time I have been asked to create this particular shade by a client, she has shown me one of the pictures below as her colour inspiration. Most people seem to ask me for very light blonde shades rather than what I think I'd like to call 'sophisticated vintage gold', and I don't want to mess it up.
Can I have some ideas from more experienced colourists what shades I might use to get a close match on this particular client? Or any approaches that might be useful?
I'm familiar with both Goldwell and Wella, but am happy to recieve suggestions from those who use other brands as I should be able to match these against goldwell/wella's colour ranges.
I would put her at a natural level 4/5, her hair is fine so needs handling with care when lightening this many levels but takes colour well. I think this nice dark blonde colour should be quite obtainable. I believe the actress herself is about the same level.
The client has 4 inches of roots which are naturally very ashy but she has previously coloured ends from box dyes with a lot of red tones where the colour has faded which I think may present a problem to achieving eveness all over.
My inclination was using foils close to the root rather than balayage and to pre-lighten to the desired level and then tone using demi-permanent colour to achieve shade variation.