All salon owners! Have I missed anything???

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

froggie

Reaction score
This might sound a bit strange but I always panic and wonder if i've missed anything in setting up my salon!
Its been open about 6 months ago now, its going really really well just myself and another therapist, so 2 of us full time, its a family business me and my mum who is a holistic and beauty therapist. I've been doing beauty for over ten years , mum about 5..Anyway what I need to know is there anything I should be doing that i'm not already???
We set up registered with inland revenue, local council,insurers,babtac etc but not really done anything about actual health and safety apart from following health and safety measures and having first aid box etc and following rules of c.o.s.h.h but are we actually meant to ring up any sort of health and safety and register with anyone in particular or anything else that we've missed???

I panic that one day we'll get a visit from someone to say we've not done this this and this although i'm very experienced in the beauty trade i'm not that business savvy!
We've just been so busy working 60 hours a week each what with being fully booked most days, cleaning, towels etc etc the salon is just kind of running itself! and at the moment we're just keeping track of all incomings we only take cash or cheque so record every transaction and have a small sundries book which we record everything in and put receipt in but as for set up costs and dermalogica orders etc we just have a big drawer with all receipts and invoices in!!! Nightmare thought of even sorting it all out!!
For our wages we take a set sum of just £200 per week each in cash for now as we want to try and plough as much back into the business as much as poss, but as we just pay ourselves cash should we be recording this in any particular way???