Another inquiry from a DIY'er-how do you handle these situations?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShannonU

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I've had a lot of people lately asking me where I buy my products, how I apply Gelish or how they can buy it without having a certificate etc.. They're always online inquiries but I just don't know how to handle them. I say the same thing every time-"I am a certified professional and hold a degree in nail technology. I purchase my products from an authorized license-only beauty supplier."

I'm sure you can guess what I really want to say. The beauty industry is deregulated here so this happens often but I can't help but be pissed off by it when I've spent a lot of money to get me where I am at today. It's such an insult to me.

How would you deal with these situations? I know it'll happen again.

I think you are handling it perfectly now. I always tell them that you will need to provide your qualifications and certificates if you want to buy from suppliers, even if you don't! This usually puts them off trying. :wink2:

I'd just say : Not being in that boat myself I really wouldnt know... All I know is that unless your Qualified you can't be insured ....

I always say, "When you become a nail professional like me, you'll know all these little insider secrets."

And in my mind I'm finishing that sentence with, "....til then, s** off." :wink2:

Last edited by a moderator:
I always say, "When you become a nail professional like me, you'll know all these little insider secrets."

And in my mind I'm finishing that sentence with, "....til then, s** off." :wink2:

I'm always irritated and feel like saying something mean but I always hold back. I would never think to message a hair dresser and ask her how I can streak my own hair and what works best and where can I buy what she buys.