Apprenticeship or School - I'm nervous!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ashley02

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I hope I am posting in the right area, if not, I apologize.

I have dreamt of being a hair stylist since my very first time in a real, professional salon. I absolutely love doing my own hair, as well as others, and it really is just my dream. However I have about zero confidence when it comes to going to school or getting an apprenticeship. I was offered an apprenticeship once, the owner of the salon said he would "check any openings", but he unfortunately never called back.

So I am wondering if finding another apprenticeship would be worth it, or should I just go to cosmetology school? (I graduated from high school this past June.) And also, how can I get over my nervousness! Really, I just feel very intimidated. There is so much to learn, and I know close to nothing! I guess I'm just worried I won't be able to do it right, or I won't be any good!

Thank you for your time!

Nobody is born knowing how to do hair. It is a skill we learn, similar to learning how to read and write.
You really have nothing to worry about as nobody starting out has more knowledge than you.
In the UK, apprentiship is by far the superior way to become a hairdresser, but I don't know what it is like in the US. It is more important to be interested, have passion for and a comitment to the industry than anything else at this stage.
Best of luck, and I hope to be welcoming you to our industry soon x

Hi Ashley!