Assertiveness - Help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ashleigh_21x

Reaction score
Hey Lovely Geeks!

I'm feeling super low right now and I know you geeks will have a sympathetic ear!

I have been working for a beauty business since January 2013, It is a small salon with 2 treatment rooms and there are 6 therapists, We work in a serviced apartment building so we rent out rooms occasionally and do massive pamper parties also. I have worked my way up to being "senior therapist" without actually being asked. I get given a lot of responsibility and I am told when the owners are not there I am in charge of the other therapists and the day to day running of the salon. Fine. I am quite happy with this, But what I am not happy with is that I choke every time I feel like saying no or asking for a wage increase. I work 10 hour days 5 days a week for minimum wage and I go over and above what is expected of me because I adore this industry and my loyal clients.

The straw that broke the camels back came on Monday when I was flicking through the diary and noticed that I am in on Saturday (1 of my very precious days off, Neither owner has asked if this is ok, They have just popped me in knowing i will say yes and cancel everything to be there) So now I will be working 6 days this week with 1 day off. Not cool. Also my partner has booked us a weekend away this weekend and since I am the only one who can do Shrinking Violet and Eyelash Extensions I will have to cancel my plans :sad: I just really want to know how to communicate with my boss's that I need my 2 days off a week and that is final. I really work hard for them and feel that 2 days off is only fair. I just don't know how to say no and put my foot down.

Sorry for the long post. I am just really starting to lose my motivation to even drag myself out of bed in the mornings. My whole social life is crumbling around me.