Best way to train as a nail tech ?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lallypop

Reaction score
Hi !
I started getting my nails done over a year ago and now I am obsessed! I have self taught myself to do acrylic and some nail art but obviously not to a professional standard.
I am currently training to be a hairdresser 3 days a week and working part time so I am very busy but I would love to train to be a nail tech so I could leave my current job (retail.. ugh ) and do nails while I complete my hair training which could take 2-3 years. I would also like to keep it as a side job when I become a hairdresser because it gives me a lot of joy :)
Almost all the nail tech jobs I have seen require an NVQ and the only NVQ courses I have found are week long intensive courses which I am fairly certain are a con,
Could anyone help me by suggesting ways to become NVQ qualified, which will be recognised as a high standard by employers and will not be a waste of my money ?
Realistically do you think I could be working as a nail tech within a year even in a local salon? Honest opinions will be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks !!

Wow! questions questions! I'll have a good go at answering for you.

Some employers as for NVQ2 others ask for NVQ3. I think to get NVQ2 within a year is realistic whereas NVQ3 would take about 2 years at college. If you have manicure and pedicure qualifications, some places will take you straight onto the NVQ3 whereas other will want you to do the NVQ2 first.