Broken capillaries & v weak nails after overlays removed

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tameeza

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am a relative newbie to this site (love it by the way, especially the tutorials!), training to be a nail tech but my query is as a customer...... :o

I am 8 months pregnant and recently had my L&P overlays removed in preparation for labour (I'm not allowed any enhancement whatsoever :sad: ).

As a result my own nails are very, very weak, all of them have broken and I have noticed that I have broken capillaries under the nail plate. To make things worse, on some of my nails, the nail plate is coming away from the hyponichium (sp?) :Scared:

Is this normal?

And what can I do to strengthen my nails - they look awful!!! (I'm eating very well/healthily for a change because I'm pregnant.)

Thanks for all your help and advice.

Hello hun,

How were the enhancements removed? Were they soaked off? I have only seen this kind of thing if the enhancements were prized away from the nail plate. They didn't pick at them at all did they to remove any lifted acrylic prior to soaking? I once went to a salon that nipped at the lifted product on my nail with cuticle nippers.....arghhhh!
I know that might sound like a really strange question....but like I said that's the only time i've seen that kind of thing.

As Krissy said... sounds to me like the enhancments were forced off (hence the haemorrhaging I think you are talking about).

You can try some natural nail strengtheners (ie ToughenUp) and SolarOil, but for the most part you are going to have to pamper the nails as they grow out (shouldnt take so long if your prego ;) )