Calgel tips - Why are they lasting 3 days!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trainedangel

Reaction score
I am pretty new to calgel and I am not having problems with overlays.

The big problem is tips, I have done about 10 sets of tips now, and each time they are popping off after a few days.

I've contacted Calgel and they advised me not to tell clients that tips last around 4 weeks, but could last from 2, 3 or 4 weeks depending on how they look after them and do not knock them about too much. They also told me to go on another course if I am unhappy, but don't want to throw good money after bad.

When the clients come in the tips have come off with no damage to the nail. Should I use a Bonder or something to help them stay on longer.

I have followed all the advice that Calgel have given me, but it is making no difference.

Can anyone suggest a better tip adhesive, bonder, or tips or should I just give up and offer overlays only???

I would love to hear if others are having the same problems, as the therapists I have spoken to have had problems with tips falling off and I even had a client from another salon come in to ask if we could repair the tips as they only lasted a couple of days and didn't have confidence in the last technician, so I know it's not just me

hi ive been doing calgels for 2 and a half years now, i was also struggling with the same,

how many coats of gel are you doing,

i start with the gel on nail and blend in the tip then i apply 2 coats of base and 2 of white or if colour 1 clear 2 to 3 coats of colour depending on the colour and then one coat of clear gel sometimes two, and i have found that makes them last longer

however i also do acrylic and fiberglass and i find the gel isnt as lasting as them but i love gel overlays i have clients that can go 6 weeks with them on?!? x