Can I do an NVQ course by correspondence?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

welshmammy

Reaction score
A couple of years ago I accidentally fell into the beauty industry. I inherited a hair?beauty salon off my father in law. I am a stenographer by trade. I decided rather than pay someone else do do nails, I trained as a nail tech with IBD. I then added short courses in waxing, eyelash tints + perms, lash extentions, mani/pedi. I am now becoming concerned that with all the fuss surrounding industry standards, should I really have my NVQ in Beauty Therapy. As I already have many of the skills needed and regularly use them, could I do a short NVQ course, or a home study course would be even better, I have two small children and the Salon, plus occasional Court transcrips to produce, I just don't have the time to really go out to college every week, I beg and borrow baby sitters now. A home learn course would be perfect, as I get the practicals in the Salon. Anyone point me in the direction of such a course?

i can't really help too much but i think there are a couple of training centres whereby you do a home study course and then do a one day practical assessment....some of these advertise that they go towards the nvq

i'll do a search and get back to you!!!

Thanks, I had already look at this, it a bit far from me. Looking for something closer, home learn would be best, obviously I could travel now and again for assessment. Or perhaps I could get some kind of assessor to come to me?

Heres another link which might be useful.
Holistic Training Centre | Welcome

Would you be able to study in the evening instead? I'm training asan evening class, twice a week for a year to gain my NVQ.

Good luck.:hug: