Do you think age matters?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steph_x

Reaction score
I am in my 2nd year at college but not enjoying it as much as the first year. I wish I had done this when I had left school but thought I knew better and anyway working at burger king was SOOO much cooler. :rolleyes:

When I was 17 I got a job in a salon to fit around my college hours. I loved it and worked in the salon with another junior.
To cut a long story short the manager was trying to convince me to take the full time hours off the other junior(as I was only p/t) and get rid of her. I felt really uncomfortable and felt sorry for the girl. So I decided to leave and not let her know what they were tryin to do.

Iv had a few interviews for trainee jobs but being 19 going on 20 in october I think alot are put off by my age. Even though I am svq2 level 1 qualified and know how to do basic cutting and have colour training I think alot of salons aren't as keen and would rather have a young school leaver. As wages would cost much less, and knowing myself at 16 I wouldn't speak up if I was getting treated rubbish.

Does anyone have any opinions on ages of trainees?

Turned into quite a ramble.

Cheers guys

s x

are you level two or level 1 qualified? because if you are level 2 qualified you would be going into a junior stylists job, not a trainee post.

just thought id clear this up x

I have my level 1 and half way through my level 2.

Sorry if that wasn't clear.:o

xx

no its fine, you just sai svq2 level 1 lol

its difficult because you are only entitled to funding for college up until you are 19, and if you are 19 you only get one year funded. I know there is a lot of fuss about funding for next years trainees although im not sure if it affects salon based trainees.