Business advice needed

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicole1610

Reaction score
I’ve been doing hairdressing for almost 4 years. I’ve recently felt as though I’ve fallen out of love with it. Especially during lockdown I’ve just dreaded going back to work.
im currently employed and I’m really struggling to build my client base I’ve probably only got around 7 clients.My boss is constantly on at me to build up my clientele but it just feels impossible. Before Christmas we had a meeting and she said that if I can’t build up my clients she’s going to have to reduce my hours.
when we got a date to go back to work after lockdown she told me she was putting me on part time hours, I was previously doing 37 hours and now I’m on 22 I’ve got no money left for myself I’ve got a house to run and a family so I’m really going to start struggling. She justifiedmy hours by saying I’m not covering my wages some weeks and that half my clients aren’t even mine and they’re actually hers and I just do them because she can’t get them in (this isn’t the case they’ve directly messaged me to book in with myself because they didn’t want her to continue doing their hair)

I just don’t know what to do, all I’ve done since leaving school & college is working in salons doing hair and beauty so I’ve got no experience in anything else, so I’m really struggling to find another job. I’ve completely lost all confidence and faith in building a client base and I’m struggling financially because of this. I just think I would be happier doing a different job.

sorry for the long rambling post I just needed to get things off my chest lol! And hopefully get some advice

As someone who has felt this way can I ask; Do you think it's the industry or the workplace?

The main points you bought up were;
- Dreadding going to work
- Nagging Boss
- Low hours which are causing stress