First "real" client

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clo-Clo

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to the industry having trained with nsi, anyway I had my first real client (as in a client who I didn't know) Anyway she booked me for trugel manicure, so when I got there she told me she had shellac on her hands and she probably should have told me but never thought of it. I told her I didn't use shellac but would remove it as having read on here removing is the same way I was trained. Lightly buff top coat, acetone on pad and wrapped with foil for 10-15 min. So when this stage was over the "shellac" barely came off. She said she got them done locally and I know this place does shellac. She told me the way they remove it was to soak her whole hand in acetone, I'm i right in saying this is not the way it should be done??? So this process took me 30 mins extra and then she said "oh I might not have time now as I have to go out in 30 mins" I told her I should have the time if we just get going. So then her kids were running all over the place and she had to bring one of them to the loo and the other one wanted to sit on her knee so I was running from one side to the other as the child was in the way!!!! I got it done in the end but I was not happy with my work so I went home deflated as I was so excited to get my bussness going and left feeling a bit of a failure worrying about the quality of my work.
I think I was wearing Rose-tinted glasses as all the clients I've done even though I know them were so polite and caused no hiccups.
So my question is what way should I have handled this and does this type of thing happen much??
Oh and do you think this salon is using real shellac?
Thanks

Thank god these clients are rare!
Just a note for future reference Shellac should not need the top coat buffing just normally wrap using acetone or similar for 10 mins and it should wipe away.