Gelish help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loulou71

Reaction score
So, I'm new to manicure and Gelish but have done my mani and gel courses.

Ordered my lovely Geleish kit with 18G lamp and am practising on willing volunteers. Having varying degrees of success. My own nails and one or two friends last at least the full 2 weeks but most others are chipping, lifting within a week.

I think I've ready every thread and bit of advise regarding prep and application to make sure I'm doing things correctly but not getting very far.

I know that many of you don't bother dry brushing or buffing and still have great results. There seems to be every contradiction around how much of bond, foundation and colour to apply.

My friend who regularly has Gelish done and helped me out cant see any difference in how I apply to what she's already experienced. Her only comment today was that previously hers have seemed thicker and more 'plastic' whereas mine felt more like a standard polish. This is me trying to apply thinly as all the advise seems to suggest.

I'm not giving up yet but just cannot see where I'm going wrong. How long did it take you all to really grasp applying and consistently getting 2-3 weeks?

Sorry for the long post but any advice gratefully received.:irked:

Hi have you done the Gelish course? If not, I would highly recommend it.

PEP is so important so I spend time on this. I don't buff although NH do recommend.
I was taught to dab a tiny bit of foundation onto each nail and then wipe the brush on a tissue to wipe of excess product, then really scrub the foundation into the nails to get it thin but make sure if covers the whole nail. I then use a small sponge (from NH) to wipe over and apply my colour x2/3 . Each coat should be thin. Then I top coat making sure to cover the whole nail. Wipe to remove sticky to finish. My clients get 3-4 weeks x

Hi,