Graduate completely starting out!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KateandLate

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I really need some good advice on starting out my own beauty business (mobile/based at my flat) completely from scratch. I have a degree in marketing and have worked in business for a little while now, however I'm not finding it satisfying at all despite it being a well paid job.

My passion has always been in beauty especially new trends and brands. I'm looking to learn one or two skills that I can perfect on family and friends, then slowly become part time (at the office, evenings and weekends) with a view to become completely independent (if it all works out) in the next 18 months :lol: .

The problem is I have NO formal training whatsoever, just what I have learnt from getting treatments done (lots of experience there lol!) and youtube etc. I'm looking for someone to give me some kind of idea where to start, maybe a training plan or reccomend some really good courses. I take this pretty seriously and I can't really see how doing a one day product led shellac/Nouveau lash course and then buying the kit can really be enough!!

Iv'e had enough experiences having a really mediocre treatment from people of Gumtree offering 'HD Brows' which aren't really HD Brows and clumpy eyelashes - I would really love to be great at what I do and would love to have a loyal retained client list.
Ideally I would love to be able to perfect shellac first but again I can't see how one day could teach me how to shape nails and all the other bits and bobs! I have looked into doing an NVQ/BTEC but I don't really have time to do a 2 year course, and after a 4 year degree I think it's a little bit too late.

Any advice would REALLY be appreciated as everyone on this forum seems to have so much great experience and opinions.

thanks in advance :lol:

Hi,