Guitarist: Lifting nail bed and nail ridges.

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eighty

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm a young guitarist (17/Male/UK) and I have a few issues with my nails.

My first problem is the nail bed receeding and coming away from the nail on my left hand, I play blues and rock and so there's a lot of bends and vibrato going on which I'm sure are causing a bit of trauma.

I was a nail biter for a few years but I gave it up about two and a half years ago and they fully recovered, but when I got to playing guitar a bit over a year after that they started riding back again.

Also, my whole right hand as well as my thumb and pinky on my left hand are completely fine and healthy from this as they sustain no real stress.

What I'm wondering is, is there any treaments or methods of getting the tissue stronger. If I take a day or two's break they nail bed reattaches itself a little but when I play it comes back away.

I really don't want to end up with sausage fingers on my left hand, I'm not bothered about having fancy nails or anything, particularly as I'm male, but I just want, decent, clean and presentable hands, because, as a guitarist, the hands can be a large point of attention.

Also, I have recently noticed ridges on most of my nails, vertical from the (I think it's cuticle?) to the tip. I hear there's oils that can be used to get rid of them, so any specific advice on that would be great.

And a final note, I usually file my nails as I heard that makes them generally stronger, which is particularly good as I also do some fingerpicking.

So yeah, vertical ridges on most of my fingers and receeding nail beds on three of my left hand fingers due to string bending.....any help would be greatly appreciated.....!

I'm happy to do almost anything to sort it, except for giving up guitar that is; that'll never happen, lol.

Thanks, Mike. :green: