Hairdressing NVQ level 1 college

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lady_mai

Reaction score
Hello everyone!
I have been fitting hair extensions for almost 3 years now and love it!!
Although no matter what anyone says i feel the fact i am not a hairdressers fails me a little!
Iv really struggled to find a hairdressing course to do that i work around my full time job in the evenings and isnt one of those silly fast track courses. seriously who can learn all this stuff in a week!!??:irked:
Anyway at last iv found someone who does level 1 hairdressing on a evening for 36 weeks, so happy happy :D
Just a question for the hair extensions/hairdressing experts. Do you think i am right in starting from the bottom and working my way up. Will learning hairdressing make me a better hair extension technician?
I know that they say cutting extensions is different to normal hair which i why i asked? but its simple things like learning how to wash hair properly and blow dry. Would i expect to learn this?

thanks so much
love a jolly litte geek!! x

It is a good idea to learn the rest of hairdressing, so I would say definitely do it. However, will the college let you start at level 2? You could save money by skipping level 1.

You'll learn about cutting, styling, colouring, perming, etc. I think it will help with your hair extension services, and you'll be able to offer other hairdressing services on top of them.

I agree, level 1 is pretty basic and usually offered to students who have few or no gcse's, if you can get into level 2 I def would u'll save urself a lot of time!

If you do extensions then yes, I would def get your hairdressing qualifications. It means you can offer a full service rather than just a fitting and increases clients confidence in you.

Good luck :) xx

Thank you guys!