Has someone pulled the wool over my eyes?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kristalinx

Reaction score
There's a question that's been bugging me for a while now. I've seen a lot of people bashing colleges and saying that they would never take students from colleges on and that apprentices are the way forward. Is this something that most salon owners feel? Is it just colleges like school colleges or all training that isn't an apprenticeship?

I go to a training school run by a chain of salons. I'm studying my level 2 and have covered about 12 different haircuts, colour application techniques, colour theory such as natural bases, undercoats, the colour star and the icc. I know the basics of prepigging and a little bit of colour correction. Also highlights and working with bleach. The people who train me are really supportive and encourage my enthusiasm, the picked me out to work on their colour trophy entry this year with them and have been teaching me how to style hair for photo shoots and competitions. I've been told by one of the teachers that the training is very similar to the Toni and Guy training where she learnt but I'm worried that I have been led into a false sense of security.
I was thinking that I was getting a good education and that on completion I would be an employable stylist. I have high hopes for where I would like to end up in my career but I'm concerned that I will stumble at the first hurdle and wont get hired anywhere.

Can anyone out there give me some indication of whether there are jobs out there for college leavers? And could anyone tell me what they would expect a qualified level 2 to do so I can check for any gaps in my skills and maybe look to taking some extra classes.

Sorry about the long post, I just started having a mini career crisis!