Have you altered your business accordingly?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loobylou22

Reaction score
Not sure if the title matches what point I want to get across but here goes.
After yet another friend making 3 in the last year taking a day course at a local wholesalers to do nails i'm wondering which way to push my business.
i have been doing around 90% nails 10% beauty for about 5 years however now, with day courses and kits available in lidl, anybody can start up and become what took me 2 years at full time college.

I am now looking at stearing at my business slightly away from nails and towards other treatments, and have seen a slight rise in waxing, massage lash treatments.

I do a full range of beauty treatments and i'm thinking of adding hd brows and lvl lashes. I'm also looking at taking on a professional salon skincare range like environ.

Have any of you made a decision like me to step away from nails given the situation, 'Techs' are popping up everywhere. I know i do a decent set of nails looking at my client base however it's only a matter of time before there sister, niece, auntie daughter etc.... also trains in nails.
Has anyone you know succeed at changing?
Hope all this makes sense. Xx

I have gradually fazed out nails altogether apart from mani/pedi. In my small town there are now around 10 beauty salons and now 5/6 nail salons as well. I found it was not financially viable to compete with people charging £15 for a full set of nails,so gradually we
Switched all our nail clients to OPI gel polish and the majority of them are glad they did.
I am now thinking of getting rid of my spray tan booth as we are inundated with mobile spray people charging £8-£10, we use St.Tropez and cannot compete with these silly prices.