Having someone work with me - need advice!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

orchid11

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm having some dilemma and need some advice. I have been building up my beauty business for 7 years and have been based in a busy hairdressers for the last two. I work self employed and pay rent for the four days I do, four long days but that's my choice. I'm struggling at times to fit people in and if I go on holiday I have to completely shut the business down, hence why not many holidays!

One of the hairdressers has qualified in beauty and has been doing a bit of mobile but its slow so after much thought feel it makes sense for her to rent the days I don't do and could also cover for me if I'm away. The owner of the salon is obviously happy about this as she would be getting more rent and I would have a bit of help, win, win!

However the practicalities of this is starting to do my head in! At first I thought she could use her own products that way I wouldn't take anything off her. But if she then covered for me my clients would expect what I use, she also can't afford separate pricelists and the cost of setting up with the same ranges I use. So now thinking start as we mean to go on, use my products, equipment and pricelist but I would take a percentage to cover my costs. What do you think would be fair?

The owner is doing a reduced rent for a bit to help her out so she would be paying that and a percentage to me, I don't want her to be out of pocket but feel I need to do this.

I have an accountant, who funnily enough I've never met, was recommended by my old guy who retired and everything's been dealt by phone and post but should I get advice from him as she would also be taking payments through my card machine?