HELP! Nail seperation

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

haydenamzy

Reaction score
Hi all

I need you advise. One of my regular clients is suffering really bad with 1 nail. It has seperated from the nail bed over half way down, and also it had a slight little green mark need the cuticle area. She has never had this problem before, and I have been doing her nails for over a year. I removed the tip and acrylic last week to have a proper look at it. I suggested perhaps keeping the tip off this time but because she was going to a wedding she wanted it back on. I scrub-freshed very throughly and but a tip back on.

But what should I do with it? I am worried as I have been doing nails for over 3 years and never come across this problem. If I leave a tip off, it is very weak and flimsey and I dont what the whole nail coming off.

Any suggestions would be great thanks X

any suggestions guys?

Sounds like a fairly nasty case of onycholysis...

Based on the amount of seperation I would definatly not give her any length to help lever more damage. (as the nail bed works on a tracks and grooves system, additional damage will have a zipper effect and compound the problem!)

Recommended treatment is to shorten the nail right down and prescribe plenty of solar oil to help moisturise and condition the area. If appears to be getting worse, remove product, apply a bandage until the nail bed has a chance to regain some of its ground.

Also keep a close eye on the green spot and ensure you thoroughly use good sanitation practises and a pathogen fighter such as scrub fresh...

This has happenend to one of my nails also, what causes this?

Mechanical force is the primary culprit.
Trauma to the nail bed from any of the following,
catching a ripping up the nail.
burns from corse abrasives, heavy handed abrasion, drills etc,