Help needed urgently

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tiadrops

Reaction score
Hi I need some advice, I was a mobile therapist for years and had my own insurance but moved areas and didn't work for 6 months so let my insurance lapse, I then found a little salon that was offering a 70-30 split so went to work there for a while, on my first day the salon owner asked about my insurance and I said it had lapsed and she said its ok I've got insurance for the salon, so stupid me assumed I was covered. I did a set of lashes on a client who had had them done with me 2 weeks previous but the salon owner had decided to change the glue before the second appointment and the client had a reaction, the following day was my day off and I had a call to say the client was complaining so I went to the salon collected the lash remover and went to the clients house and removed the lashes, yes her eyes were red and swollen, I told the salon owner and she offered the lady free treatments. Nothing was heard of the client again and 6 months later I left and moved back to my home town, this was over a year and a half ago, then last night I came home to find a solicitor's representative on my doorstep saying I was being sued. He had a 3 page letter from the salon owner saying I had my own insurance and as I was running my own self employed business from her salon it was all my fault. I wasn't running my own business, I was working on her clients, using her products, she booked the appointments, it was just a 70-30 split. I wish I hadn't been so trusting and asked to see her insurance with me added onto it. What can I do if anything, I'm worried sick, any help would be great even if its just to tell me I'm f**ked and there going to wipe the floor with me