Help!! Training to be a hairdresser??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

emzie_xox

Reaction score
Hi everyone, im new

Firstly I'd just like some advice, I have an interview with headmasters next week as a trainee, but my friend who took up an apprentiship there left as she said it was too demanding working 6 days a week (1 day in college included) and only got £95 a week from then for 40hours work, this has made me think whether or not to go for the position now as I dont think I'm ready for it and Im not sure if I even want a career in hairdressing as ive never done it before,
theres a local course which the jobcentre told me about where its a level 2 course, you dont get paid whilst doing it but they help to find you employment, or they provide a placement in their adjoined salon to the training block, which sounds alot better to me, ive already spoken to them and they sound really friendly and told me they provide taster courses aswell to see if hair is for me,

Or the other alternative is to go to a college for level 2, but the thing is im currentley on jobseekers allowance having lost my job and now live with my partner (parents kindly moved down by the coast few weeks back) I need money to live as my partner cant pay for everything, would I be eliglbe for any benefits whilst training e.g income support? If any other you guys had any expreince?

any info appreciated on my options to get into hairdressing and money for living

thanks guys,

emma

Hello,

well let me tell you what i did,