Help with a more substantial Red result?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

prettypaula

Reaction score
Hello all, newbie here. Although i dont work as a hairstylist now i did train in a salon for 2 years but it wasnt for me.

So i guess im slightly more experienced than a regular consumer but not a pro!

Ive been colouring my hair with a mix of Loreal majirouge 7,62 and Majicontrast copper red with 6% peroxide for a few months following a colour remover of the black dye id had on for some time.

the condition of my hair is fine, but the gorgeous deep red i get only lasts a couple of weeks before it fades to a sort of dark ginger, not copper as it lacks lustre really.

my question is ive now got some 7,64 majirouge to and i was wondering what i can do to keep a better colour, is it poor tints? or perhaps not the right shade? or do i need more lift with a 9%?

im aiming for this kind of colour

Florence++The+Machine+florencedrink+in+hand.jpg

thanks for the help chaps and chapettes!

9% will make it fade even more! why are u using 6% do u have grey? 3% is fine and will not fade as much or u could use a semi!

ahh well i used 6% as the colour remover didnt lift the ends as much, i suppose now its a pretty even base i should switch to 3%, thankyou

id like a semi in between but never sure which is best, i got some matrix in between wash colour conditioner mousse which is ok, doesnt seem to change the colour but adds some shine and movement again. Its the warm one rather than cool.

Reds are a bit of a nightmare to keep vibrant. I would definitely take the previous advice about using 3% and maybe chuck in some red mixtone for extra zing.