Help with colour

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reidebot

Down the Rabbit hole.
Reaction score
My mother called me and asked if I can make her hair silver as she is sick of tinting her hair and wants to go back natural. Her natural hair would be about a level 8. Her mid lengths are a 6 (borderline 7) and her ends a 9. Now I was thinking I should be able to get away with 20 vol lightener (I was considering doing 30 vol, aiming for a shade lighter and having her regrowth a little darker to give a nice shadow effect) but I'm wanting advice on the toner. I was considering drying her hair after lightening and colouring with KP 8/ or 9/ (depending on how light we go) with 0.88 but thought I'd get a second opinion. I mean I'm still learning after all.

I've previously put 5.1 in her hair but that was about 8 months ago. It's quite faded and there isn't much colour build up so I think it's should lift easily enough. She tends to reflect gold though.

I dont think i follow?

Has she got any white hair?

I dont think i follow?

Has she got any white hair?
she has grey hair. There is white in it. She calls it "The racing stripe".

But I want to remove her colour and let her go gracefully grey. I'm also dong a massive cut. I am going to try and convince her to have a long bob as it will suit her nicely and let me cut off what she needs me too.

she has grey hair. There is white in it. She calls it "The racing stripe".

But I want to remove her colour and let her go gracefully grey. I'm also dong a massive cut. I am going to try and convince her to have a long bob as it will suit her nicely and let me cut off what she needs me too.

How much white has she got?

No matter what you do shes always going to have a funny root unless you were to pick out each white hair and colour the root white everytime. But thats not really practical.

How much white has she got?