how young is too young for nails

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tinkernail

Reaction score
I am really new at using this site for info. I have only just read comments placed here and have enjoyed reading them all. my question is this, Is a ten year old too young to have acrylics? Why? What will be the damaged caused? What would be a good age to start? All this because I have a mother who insists on doing this for her daughter because she wants her nailpolish to stay on. At first I agreed to apply a thin coat of gel, they she asked for pink and white just an overlay now she want length added. I need to have a good reason to not do this because I really don't feel right about this. Thank you for any advice you may have!!!

p.s. I have not actually worked on her yet ,these were all just request that kept getting more involved.

Maybe you could just say that you dont feel comfortable with doing it on such a young person.
to be honest i would not add length, i actually gave my 6 year old daughter a plain gel overlay a few weeks ago as she is a verybad nail biter (biting them so badly that they were becoming inflamed and red around the cuticle and sidewall..) i didnt add any length or anything and she chewed them all off about an hour later her reason: they felt uncomfortable!! :eek::lol::irked:

Weekly or fornightly manicure appointments would be more advisable for her.

Normally 16 is the minimum age that we techs will nail young ladies[ no pun intended ]
they are still ruff n tumble & can cause themselves a damage if length is added.

Try the overlay as Nic described above :lol: & reward her if she looks after them & can promote some natural length ie: french finish, a nail art here 'n' there.
It is a two way street to get the results desired, but other than that I'd refuse at her age.

HtH

XX J XX