I only have one nail client whose gel polish lifts!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Baileewiley

Reaction score
I have been doing nails for six months now, and have a pretty large clientele that can go three to four weeks without their gel polish lifting or chipping. Recently, I had a client whose nails had chipped at every single two week appointment. After this last one, she texted me the NEXT DAY saying the nails are already lifting. I tried rubbing them with acetone, multiple coats of dehydrator, different shapes, and she claims she isn't in any chemicals at work that may make them worse. I am so frustrated! Any suggestions?

If all your other clients are getting a couple of weeks wear with no issues then clearly it's something that particular client is doing. Is she a picker/nibbler? So is she unconsciously fiddling with them looking for a tiny edge to pick at for example?

Chipping and lifting are two different problems too, chipping at the free edge implies damage so I would suggest she's using them like tools for something. Lifting (unless its at the free edge caused by chipping) would imply some kind of chemical breaking down the product. This could be some moisturisers, cleaning products, etc,

If all your other clients are getting a couple of weeks wear with no issues then clearly it's something that particular client is doing. Is she a picker/nibbler? So is she unconsciously fiddling with them looking for a tiny edge to pick at for example?

Chipping and lifting are two different problems too, chipping at the free edge implies damage so I would suggest she's using them like tools for something. Lifting (unless its at the free edge caused by chipping) would imply some kind of chemical breaking down the product. This could be some moisturisers, cleaning products, etc,

Exactly as Trinity says above.