Is it worth investing in normal nail polishes?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sapphire.Nails

Reaction score
I'm a newly qualified nail technician and was originally hoping to offer shellac as my only polish. However, I feel my l&p skills are almost at a decent standard so will soon be offering those too. Would it be worth investing in a brand of normal nail polish for these? Or should I stick to shellac? Thanks in advance!

I only work on the natural nail, and offer shellac and regular varnishes, many of which now need replacing, but am now looking at the new Vinylux from CND. Think they will be great for regular varnish users!

Thanks for your reply :) I have to admit if I do get normal polishes these will be top of my list! How many do you think I should get, just starting out? Wish money wasn't an option lol.

Bump. Are normal nail polishes still going strong?

I would hold off for vinylux if I were you! My huge collection of polishes have been rendered obsolete due to the popularity of shellac- vinylux will change this!

I've been wearing Vinylux for 2 days now. I do have some wear on my right index and thumb but that is because I didn't have any plastic backed pads for polish removal on my clients today. Regular nail polish starts chipping on me as soon as I'm done applying it. So far, Vinylux is staying! I would purchase the Vinylux polish before I purchase any other polish!

I would probably start out with a handful of colours, maybe matching your most popular Shellacs. There is often a starter kit which is always a good deal, but I think I may hold off until I can get to Ellisons to have a look - I have bought so many wrong coloured varnishes from choosing them on paper!!! Hope that helps x

Thanks for your replies, I really appreciate them! Brilliant advice and stops me feeling overwhelmed whilst building up my supplies! Thank you very much :) x