Just wanted to get it off my chest and some opinions?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carlytaylor1986

Reaction score
No idea where to start really.

My predicament is this. I work in an office, earn good money but am bored out of my brain, I just sit there day dreaming about what life could be, but am too terrified to make any leap as I have a mortgage and that is quite a big commitment. I don't have a partner so have no one to fall back on really. I have my parents too, but I don't want to put them under any stress. I get bored so easily and need something to keep me on my toes.

I am qualified to level 3 beauty therapy, qualified legal secretary and a qualified nanny. I have no experience working as a nanny and I don't actually think that is the road for me. I would love to open up a salon and have done some brief calculations, but clearly need to look into it much deeper, but again, this was just me day dreaming today.

I mentioned this to my mum and she brushed it under the carpet and said "we all get bored, this phase will pass". I was hoping for a bit of support and for her to say "just go for it". I walk to work every morning thinking about opening a salon or just doing something different with my life instead of getting on that bl00dy train day in day out!

I am 28, and know if I don't do anything with my life, I am going to regret it massively in the future. But I am also scared that if I do take any leap and it fails, that I am back at square one! Like I said, just wanted to get this off my chest and some opinions - am I being unrealistic of what I want to achieve? Sorry for rambling! xx