Landlord causes big set back!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

secret rainbow

Reaction score
I was due to open my own salon next month. It has been going through since march and was supposed to be completed this month but the solicitors dragged thier feet.I was about to send back the signed lease when i had a phone call from the person who has the lease and is assigning it to me to say that the landlords son had been in touch and has said as i am a new business im not a good proposition so he wont lease to me! How are new businesses supposed to start? The person who has the lease said he would sub let to me if i give him 6months rent up front to put in his bank account for the term of the lease which is 6yrs and i would still have to find the 3 months rent up front. Im not a bottomless pit of money wish i was!! I cant do it so im back to square 1! To say im fed up is a understatement! I gave them bank references which were good and personal references and i have a guarrentor but i dont have 3yrs audited accounts!! Are all landlords the same or do i stand a chance?

They seem to be breeding. I had a similar problem with Grumpy the Landlord!! Decided that he would not budge one iota on the terms of the lease and I'd have been mad to enter into it. Frankly I am better off not going there, but it left such a sour taste that I don't want a salon now so going back mobile for a while til I get my head straight.

I wrote to Tony Blair because I said that it is so hard for the average guy to make an HONEST living, all I wanted to do was open a small beauty salon and was it too much to ask. He hasn't replied yet, not that I'm expecting much if I do.

My heart goes out to you hun as I know EXACTLY what you are feeling right now and it's not a nice feeling.:hug: