Mobile, rent a room, work from home?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lolapop1

Reaction score
Hi all I'm a newbie nail tech and I'm wanting to start doing nails full time. Would luv any advice on the following what's the most beneficial pros and cons etc I see mobile tech around my area charging £8 I'm gob smacked how they can afford to do it. Finding a room to rent is a nightmare it's either mega rent fees location is rubbish. I have a large spare room I thought maybe start from there but I live about 5 miles from town centre and not sure if that would work any help would be much appreciated xxx

There are pro / cons to both ....

Rent a room = rent / billls / new = no client base / but could have walk ins
Home = no walk ins / no rent tho
Etc ...,

What I would say is as your a newbie I'm 'assuming' you don't have much of a client base ? ... Why not work from home and build up your clients... advertise and get yourself out there...
But you and only you can decide what's best for you.

Good luck xxxxx

Sent from my iPhone using SalonGeek app

This is a hard thing to answer we don't know your area or your circumstances. There are pros and cons to both here's a bit but prob better to have out this in the biz section.

Working from home is good as no rent, but you do need insurance, if your renting check you can run a business as a lot won't allow it, if you have bought your hour then you need to contact the insurance company and let them know. You'll need to work hard to get clients as no passing trade, so advertise and look for ways to lest people know you're there.

Renting, you'll have too pay rent and also get insurance, you'll most likely need a nvq to go on the premises special licence, if there isn't one you'll have to get one, that's important. Your more likely to get passing trade but still need to advertise hard.