New Tech, is this alright?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Venusnails

Reaction score
Hello! I am a new technician and I have a question. My educator was not
Very egar to inform me on techniques or how to do anything
Other than pink and white gel nails. I'm happy she taught me so well
But many of my clients don't want pink and whites.
I started expiriementing with nail polish because I have a lot of it!
I first tried on myself, and with no problems put it on a few clients and had them return without a problem! I'm using a complete gel system!!! I know when doing acrylics this technique is normal. My steps are:
Prep the nail, add a form or file off old set.
Apply bonding and sculpt a new nail basically skipping white.
I cure and then remove dispersion and file into the disired shape.
Then I apply 1-2 coats of regular nail polish (seche, color club, essie, opi, etc) and let it mostly dry. Usually the customer wants art aswell so I let nails dry while I do art etc. Then I simply apply a top coat and cure it.
When I expirimented on my own nails I didn't wait as long for the polish to dry and I noticed even after curing I could still slightly dent the polish if I press extremely hard using a sharpish object.

Anyway my question is!!! Has anyone used this technique or does anyone have any feedback as to if this is okay? I asked my educator and her response was "you're only supposed to be doing pink and whites." Yet I've taken the course and am certified... Please help :( :?: