Newby to nails please help anyone, Geeg?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sugarnails

Reaction score
Hi I am just starting out and would appreciate any feedback as I took some time off since training to have my bub. Here goes the list hehe:

I am a bit unsure with filing tips how much you need to file..should you still feel the smiley line of the nail tip or should you completely file it so you can't feel it at all?

I have been doing a few nail biters who chew halfway up their nail..I stuck clear tips on but wonder whether to glue velocity tips which apparently require no blending..in regards to tips in general how do you know what tip works best for different customers. Is there a standard rule as it can get confusing with the tip shapes and different fingers.

Is there any advice for doing gel on nail biters and trying to make it look natural in general. Forms are a bit scary for me at the moment so I am not entirely confident.

Should I be buffing the natural nail with a 240 grit or 180 before gel treatment?

When I have been filing the nail models I try have been complaining I am hurting the side walls of their nails with the file when I try to take them in on the sides. Should I be doing this part with a 240 grit or still a 180? Is there any technique to make it easier in those tender areas?

Once experienced how long should a gel session take as it is taking me 3 hours to do a full set at the moment. Where should I be saving on time?

I will start with these questions and go form there..I will also hopefully post a picture of some I have done so you can see what I am doing wrong as nails are coming off after couple days. Thanks again =)

Attachments

• IMG_1826.jpg
    IMG_1826.jpg
    139.6 KB · Views: 817
I can only seem to load one photo but hte others seem thick and fat at the ends especially (wide as well)