One length cut, curly hair-part afro, part caucasian type

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dani88

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm currently studying level 2 hairdressing in college. On Thursday I will be doing my first 1 length cut in college on a friend. Her hair is just below shoulders and will be a trim.

Her hair type is curly and frizzy (takes me a while to blow dry but she is now my morning appointment every Thursday in college for lots of practise). Her hair type is part Afro/ Caribbean and part Caucasian, she hates wearing it curly unless it's loose curls at the ends and she hates any volume in the root, very challenging for me!

I'm just looking for a few pointers when I do a 1 length trim, should the hair be wet or dry and straight? I know my tutor will help me and advise me but I am watching videos on Francesco group and myhairdresser.com to try get as much knowledge and understanding before hand.

I think curly hair might be harder to cut so just want a bit of info/ perspectives from professionals 😊

I have attached a pic of what I did for her in college (deep conditioning treatment, straight blow then curled ends with straighteners)
ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1380915816.621386.jpgImageUploadedBySalonGeek1380915835.217931.jpg

Hiya, photos look great and good luck with college! For curly hair I personally still cut wet but with less tension, use the larger half of your comb and allow the hair to move so you get a realistic opinion on how it will fall, I'd do my baselines wet and take off any length, dry, then finish so I can literally make sure everything us visually as it should be, hope that helps x

I agree with the above, cut wet with less tension and then check it all once it's dried straight.

Good luck!

Thank you, really appreciate your comments, I'm very excited to be trying this :) xx